So What Now?

Recently I had the most amazing conversation with my mom.  For the first time in my life I was reassured by my family that I’m free to do whatever I want with my life.  For some people this way of thinking is automatic but I tend to let the opinions of my loved ones far outweigh my own.  While this conversation was freeing it also filled me with even more woe.  Now I’m trying to figure out what I truly want to accomplish in my lifetime.  My so-called “dream” of being a doctor was mostly fueled by my undying want to relieve my family of all financial troubles.  So now that I’ve been told to focus only on myself and my happiness I have no clue what I want to do.  Sure being a doctor is a pretty sweet gig but I don’t know if it’s worth the headache of fighting to get into medical school and then fighting to get out of it.  Right now my only goal in life is to be happy.  Hmmm….I guess Beyoncé was onto something (and if you don’t get that reference search “Pretty Hurts” immediately).

Leave a comment