Overwhelmed.  I make list after list of things that I need to do.  I see all of my tasks laid before me.  I spend so much time trying to start each task.  It seems that as soon as I get close to completing something I get bored or overwhelmed and switch to the next task.  Nothing is getting done.  Nothing is complete.  Doing a little on a million tasks but actually getting nothing done.  I don’t know how to get out of this unproductive cycle. I think truthfully it’s my fear of failure holding me back.  Once I finally take all of the steps to fill out an application – I may receive rejection.  Once I find the perfect apartment – my application may be denied.  Once I accept one position – I may find another that’s a better fit.  It’s been so long since I tried something new or done something that truly makes me uncomfortable – but it’s time for me to step out of my comfort zone.

The summer of 2014 when I applied and accepted a position at a random camp it wasn’t until I pulled up for staff training that I realized that was the first time in a long time that I stepped out of my comfort zone.  I went to a new place with new people and I survived.  In fact it was amazing.   In fact that camp and the family it gave me helped me push through the post-grad slump.  So with that in mind, why am I so hesitant to step out of my comfort zone again?

I’m just going to jump in! Just like I did a few years ago. I’m going to jump and let the pieces fall where they may.  I love that as I write things just start to make sense again.  I love to see how I started writing filled with confusion and anxiety and I get to close with motivation and hope.

Leave a Reply

